I’m Here.

There has been a lot going on in the world lately. Certainly, enough for a few blog posts but the truth is, I’ve been too overwhelmed to write or do much of anything else. I am overwhelmed by the happenings in my personal life as well as happenings that have reaffirmed this country’s disregard for Black lives. Two men got away with murder this week without even stepping into a courtroom. A family buried their 12-year-old son that was taken down by a policeman’s bullet and more stories of Black men meeting the same fate keep popping up seemingly every day. I’m tired and so is the rest of the world.

Freeways were blocked, malls got shut down and people have been symbolically dying across the country. But, what have I been doing? Nothing, at least, that’s what it feels like. I’ve been going to work and coming home (b.k.a. my mama’s house) and not doing much else, including social events. I’ve isolated myself because of my permanent rain cloud and the fucking up that tends to follow it. I’m surviving,well, I’m trying. I was depressed when I heard the Mike Brown and Eric Garner decisions; that news made me feel worse. I’m still depressed but as I’ve watched the world mourn these men and reflected, some of my rain has turned into thunder. I’ve picked up my pen to write this crap blog post and something for another project. My thirst for information has returned so I’m trying to read as much I plan to write. I’m trying to venture back into organizing with a project after a very public mistake spooked me. I’m here y’all and I hope you will continue to be here too. I got announcements coming and I plan to post more often (forreal this time).

Take care of yourselves.

One thought on “I’m Here.

  1. Relando Thompkins, MSW, LLMSW says:

    I’ve been overwhelmed with everything that’s been happening too, and trying to shake myself free of feeling so immobilized by it all. Currently I’ve been seeking a lot of support from loved ones, and actively gathering the strength to act.

    Thanks for the message, and take care of yourself as well,

Speak!

