8 Songs By Women Who Know They’re Awesome (Seizure Warning)

Editor’s note: I placed a line break for the readers that might be sensitive to gifs. I use gifs in other pieces too but not to this extent. I’m trying to make this space more accessible for everyone. 

A couple of days ago, I read a BuzzFeed post in which the author slammed songs about women being beautiful because they don’t know or acknowledge their beauty. I’ve noticed this too and I could have written about it but I can also do a fun posts with pretty gifs. I decided on the latter because being serious all the time is no fun and I like experimenting with my content. Anywho, here’s a list of eight tracks where women proudly boast about their beauty and general awesomeness. I figured this would be a great way to thumb my nose at the idea that women have to be modest and understated about how they feel about themselves while men have no problem with aggressively reminding the world how awesome they think they are. This list is by no means extensive and I am fully aware that some of these songs have some problematic elements.

Let’s get into it:

Grown Woman (Beyonce)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m a grown woman
And I know that I got it (got it got it)
I’m a grown woman
Ain’t got no room in her pockets
I’m a grown woman
Look down, got you so excited
I really want to know if you got it like that
Cause you got a cute face
And that booty so fat

 

Pretty Girl Rock (Keri Hilson)

Pretty as a picture
Sweeter than a swisher
Mad ’cause I’m cuter than the girl that’s with you
I don’t gotta talk about it baby you can see it
But if you want I’ll be happy to repeat it

5 Star Bitch Remix (Yo Gotti, Nicki Minaj, Gucci Mane and Trina)

Oh, did I stutter, Harajuku hyphen
Barbie
I’m hot I think its time to put the rice in
I was in the chair, I was gluin’ my weave in
When you hit the stage
They was booin’ and leavin’
Young Money, red flag, no more auditions
Ask Lil’ Wayne who the five-star bitch is

Bossy (Kelis)

Hey ya.
You don’t have to love me
You don’t even have to like me
But you will respect me
You know why?
Cuz I’m a boss!

Bootylicious (Destiny’s Child)

You gotta do much better if you gone dance with me tonight
You gotta work your jelly if you gone dance with me tonight
Read my lips carefully if you like what you see
Move, groove, prove you can hang with me
By the looks I got you shook up and scared of me
Hook up your seatbelt, it’s time for takeoff

All About That Bass (Meghan Trainor)

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
Like I’m supposed to do
Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase
And all the right junk in all the right places

I see the magazines workin’ that Photoshop
We know that shit ain’t real
C’mon now, make it stop
If you got beauty beauty, just raise ’em up
Cause every inch of you is perfect
From the bottom to the top

Boss Ass Bitch (Nicki Minaj/PTAF)

PTAF Version:

I stay turnt up, don’t worry about me
When I come up on your hood
Yeah, you’re going to see me
I’m a pretty ass bitch taking all the fades
Bitches better know it, got the swag on, run it
Kandy B and KDuce, Alizé on this beat
Cause I’m a boss ass bitch

Nicki Version:

Uh, okay, I order rich bitch sauce
Rich bitch cold, got a rich bitch cough
Which bitch want it? I’ll go rich bitch off
‘Cause you know my style gettin’ bit ripped off!
When I’m at the restaurant, rich bitch sauce
Rich bitch cold, I got a rich bitch cough
Which bitch want it? I go rich bitch off
‘Cause you know my style gettin’ bit ripped off!
I’m a boss, I’m a boss

Ask Lil Wayne who the 5 star bitch is

Hard (Rihanna and Young Jeezy)

I’ma rock this shit like fashion, as in
goin’ til they say stop
And my runway never looked so clear
But the hottest bitch in heels right here

No fear, and while you getting your cry on
I’m getting my fly on
Sincere, I see you aiming at my pedastal
I betta let ya’ know

That I, I, I, I’m so hard

 

I know I missed some tracks so if you are inclined, leave more examples in the comments. If I get enough, I’ll do a follow-up!

One thought on “8 Songs By Women Who Know They’re Awesome (Seizure Warning)

  1. Elle says:

    Rolling Hills by Jill Scott……..Let’s other women know there’s more to them than what’s between their legs.

Speak!

