COVERED: Janelle Monae Shares VIBE Cover With Robin Thicke

Editor’s Note: I am working to incorporate news into ‘Ashleigh, Not Ashley’s’ repetoire. I will tag each post as such and monitor everyone’s response to these post. I’ll continue to do this throughout the month of August to see if I will continue. Thanks for your continued support!

ROBIN-JANELLE-COVER-final

Janelle Monae and Robin Thicke on the cover of VIBE

With all these different social media sites where you can post your music, there are a lot of independent artists. I love that. I love that people are making music in their basements and it’s coming online. That’s the good stuff because they’re doing it when nobody’s watching. There is no big machine behind them, and you feel like it’s coming from an honest place. I have my own recording label, Wondaland Art Society. I’ll be bringing forward artists like Roman GianArthur, Deep Cotton, St. Beauty, and they all play their own instruments, they write and produce their own records, they’re playing live onstage. I think it is time for that era. I actually just picked up the guitar a year and a half ago, so I’ll be playing live.

Read the full story here.

Speak!

