5 Reasons I’m Excited About Renewal of ‘Hit The Floor’

I am not a big TV watcher. For the majority of the day, my television off and only comes on for certain shows. Most of the shows I turn it on to watch have been stables for a while like Love and Hip Hop: Atlanta and other reality television ratchetness. Typically, when my reality ratchetness goes off, so does the television so I don’t have to watch some scripted show that bored me after the first episode. When it comes to the scripted shows, I try the once and if they suck I’m done after the first episode. Shows like TV One‘s That Girl and BET‘s Let’s Stay Together have met that sad fate. When I heard that VH1 was making their own scripted series, Hit the Floor, I was a tad skeptical but like the others, I gave it a chance. Flash forward to the present, I’m hooked to that show and I make sure I am in front of my television every week to see Ahsha and crew. On Monday, I found out it was being renewed for a second season and I was so elated that I had to blog about it.

Here are five reasons I am excited about Hit the Floor‘s renewal:

Balanced Portrayals of Black Women and Diverse Cast

Initially, I was concerned about the focus on the basketball dancing world because I figured it’d just feature a bunch of scheming harpies and although I watch Basketball Wives, I don’t think there needs to be two versions. Thankfully, the black women of Hit the Floor are nuanced and complex characters.  Mother-daughter pair Ahsha (Taylour Page) and Sloane (Kimberly Elise) seem to be very good people but even they have their stumbles and obstacles which is refreshing. Although there is a mean girl in the form of the fiery Jelena (Logan Browning), even she seems to have a story and is more than a Evelyn Lozada reject. I have never been fond of the idea of black women having to be portrayed as saints on television in order for the characters to be balanced. Ahsha, Sloane and Jelena do not fit the Claire Huxtable archetype and that is fine with me.

In addition, the creators of Hit the Floor must have followed the Shonda Rhimes formula when they wrote these characters. Outside of Kyle’s (Katherine Bailess) VERY prominent Southern accent, none of these characters seemed like racial caricatures or stereotypes. A few of the characters are involved in interracial romances and that isn’t tokenized. The races of any of these characters could be switched and it wouldn’t ruin the story line.

It’s An Original Series and Tyler Perry Didn’t Make It

Taylour Paige with show creator James LaRosa

I love broccoli but I would get tired of it if I had to eat it every day. I feel the same way about television. I am a reality television fiend and I have laughed at a Madea joke but I get sick of every new show being some shoddy reality show spin-off and I’m sick of seeing Tyler Perry’s name everywhere. Laughing at silly drink throwing and zany old ladies gets old. The Los Angeles Devils aren’t a real basketball team and Ahsha, Jelena, Kyle and Sloane aren’t real people. There’s an actual story and it doesn’t involve someone in a costume doing a silly voice.

It Could Help Put More People of Color on Television

The Good Ole Days: The ladies of “Living Single”

One of the greatest things about growing up during the 90s and early 2000s was the sitcoms. I grew up with The Cosby Show, Girlfriends, Living Single, Martin, My Wife and Kids, One on One and a slew of other shows that were led by black and brown people. I don’t know when stuff started to change but my beloved television shows started to drop one by one and all I had left was a bunch of white teen dramas. Thankfully, shows like Hit the Floor and Scandal are starting to show up and show that black and brown people can attract eyeballs.

From TV By The Numbers:

Hit The Floor is currently the highest rated new summer scripted cable series for Adults 18-49. The series is also the #1 program in cable during its Monday night timeslot among Adults 18-49 (excluding sports and specials), Adults 18-34, Women 18-34 and Women 18-49. The series is averaging 1.22 in the Adult 18-49 demo and has attracted an average of 1.9 million total viewers.

Hit the Floor was one of the top ten tweeted programs the week of July 7th in all of TV and remains to be one of the most social scripted cable shows on Monday nights.

The Dancing!

One of my few regrets is not taking dance classes as a kid. Nonetheless, I flock to shows and other media that center around the dance world. Not only do we see Ahsha, Jelena and Kyle live their lives, we see them dance. Unlike the cast of The Game, they don’t just walk around in their uniforms. Not to mention, the actresses that portray Ahsha and Kyle are actually trained dancers. They do the damn thing and I get to live vicariously through them and their toe touches.

I’m done typing and I want to know what you think. Do you watch the show? 

2 thoughts on “5 Reasons I’m Excited About Renewal of ‘Hit The Floor’

  1. four4mommy says:

    I love Hit the Floor as well! If I cam’t be home to see it, best believe that my DVR will have it waiting for me. My husband even watches. The storyline is so unique, and I think it fits into a category all by itself. I don’t see another show like it, and I am excited for the next episode. The cliffhanger/previews make me anxious for more! I am glad they will be back for another season!

  2. FrannieFlowers says:

    i may not give reality TV shows a fair chance, but i loved some Livin’ Single! i still know all the words…sad i know…

Speak!

