Ray J, Kim Kardashian and Hollywood’s Scarlet Letter

kimam

Brandy needs to collect her little brother, again. Ray J has decided to stretch his 15 minutes of fame by releasing a new single that bashes his ex and sextape partner Kim Kardashian. The song, titled “I Hit It First”, set the internet ablaze on Friday. I was on the bus when I found out about it and I’m sure the guffaw that came out of my mouth made the other bus riders think I was a wacko. While Kim Kardashian definitely has her faults, I don’t think I can twist my mouth up to say she deserved having an ex talk about her as if she was something to be owned or claimed. If you click over to Lame J’s Twitter page, his bio reads “I DONT HANG WITH STARS, I CREATE THEM!”

It’s obvious that he has a bone to pick with Miss Kardashian and although people generally consider Ray J to be wack for this stupid song, plenty of people don’t like Kim simply because of how she got famous: her sex tape. I’ve seen the same vitrol thrown at Amber Rose because she used to be a stripper and other famous women that became famous in similar manners. Rose and Kardashian both seem to have found happiness and it seems like a lot of people hate them for it. But, why?

The treatment these women receives remind me of the Scarlet Letter, the story of a single mother that is accused of being an adulteress and is forced to wear a big red A on her clothing to remind people of her supposed adulterous deed. Every time Kim Kardashian sneezes. people feel the need to remind her that she made a sex tape with Lame J. If Amber Rose posts one too many happy pictures on Instagram, people love to name drop Kanye for putting her on. I am not saying these women are infallible  but this type of behavior reeks of virgin/whore dichotomy. People are under the impression that since Kim K and Amber Rose did not get rich the “right way” they need someone to bring them down a few notches. Amber Rose has even experienced physical harassment and attacks from Kanye fans.

From SOHH.com:

“I have people throwing things at me in the street because they’re fans of Kanye,’ she said before getting upset. “I’m just crying because I don’t deserve to be bullied like that. I’m a nice girl, I don’t bother anybody. I keep my mouth shut because I don’t want any trouble. To be bullied through music and stuff like that, it’s not fair to me — I don’t deserve that, and I’m sick of being bullied.” (RapFix)

Now Kim has this monkey on her back in the form of Lame J’s latest single. It’s just sad. No one deserves this type of treatment. People are entitled to their opinions but they are not entitled to making someone else’s life miserable even if that someone is rich. They’re still human.

What do you think? Do women like Kim Kardashian and Amber Rose deserve to be attacked? Leave a comment!

4 thoughts on “Ray J, Kim Kardashian and Hollywood’s Scarlet Letter

  1. Brittany says:

    I won’t say she deserves it. But she’s not helping her case when she got famous from a sex tape, and she’s still married to a ball player while being pregnant by a rapper.

  2. jasmineholloman says:

    No one deserves it, but at the same time you have to always be conscious of your actions. Kim does alot of things just for publicity which is why people will always trashed her. On the otherhand, I believe Amber has changed her image around because you can tell she truly loves Wiz. Kimye seems more fake.

  3. Musa A Sodaye says:

    When you live and die by public perception, get ready for the backlash when the public disagrees with you. She sure doesn’t mind the perks that came with the way she got famous. The negative stuff just comes with the territory. Your house will always reflect it’s foundation. She built her stardom on a sex tape. She can’t cry foul every time it is brought up. Just like Drake has to deal with everyone calling him jimmy from degrassi and not taking him seriously as a rapper. Or rick ross getting called officer ricky. Jay-z and 50 cent getting blasted for their violent and drug dealing lyrics when trying to parlay themselves into the corporate world. I can go on and on. Kim K and amber ain’t special…I’d tell em “suck it up”.

  4. Melissa Evora says:

    I think your intentions are right in pointing out the virgin/whore dichotomy, but I do think that Kim Kardashian is not enough of an earnest woman for you to stick up for her when it comes to this matter

Speak!

