Internet Campaigns: Research Before You Post!

If you have been on Facebook this week, you probably saw  a mass changing of profile pictures into some incarnation of this:

This picture became a tool of solidarity for people that supported marriage equality as the Supreme Court was in deliberation over DOMA and Proposition 8. The campaign started out innocently enough with people virtually high-fiving and posting impassioned statuses about their support for gay couples that wanted the right to marry. Then, all hell broke loose.

Per usual with a social media campaign, there are people that don’t agree with it and critique it. On the flip, there are people that get defensive of the campaign and that’s when the Facebook arguments and Tumblr chain rants start. Think KONY 2013. I almost always fall in the former category because I hate attaching my name to anything I don’t thoroughly research because I don’t want to end up looking silly after something problematic is brought forth. That’s the journalist in me. Initially, when I saw the picture above, it was familiar but it took me a minute to realize it was an appropriation of the Human Rights Campaign Logo. Due to their assimilationist politics and their emphasis on the L and G in LGBTQ acronym, I’m not down with the HRC. Sadly, a lot of people don’t know or care about that so they just threw the logo on their page without researching original source of the logo. I have no issue with social media as a tool of advocacy but this is one of the gripes I’ve had with social media campaigns. A simple Google search would fix a lot of the misinformation that is spread by these campaigns. But in the age of internet instant gratification, I might be asking for too much.

What do you think about the marriage equality campaign? Leave a comment!

P.S.: I have a blog post coming about my issues with the marriage equality movement as a whole. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Internet Campaigns: Research Before You Post!

    • Ashleigh L.A. says:

      I agree! A post about that and other criticisms I have of the gay marriage movement is coming.

Speak!

