Beyonce and Life Is But A Dream: Thoughts

beyandblue

Beyonce’s Life is But A Dream premiered on HBO over the weekend and I have some feelings. I figured this would be fitting enough to end my unexpected blogging hiatus.

Her candidness

Beyonce has been a fiercely private person and this documentary is eye-opening. To see her talk about her life and what she has been through on her terms has made her seem more human. As I type this passage, a segment regarding her miscarriage and my heart sank to my stomach. I could feel the hurt eminating from the television and I hurt for her and any woman that has had to go through that experience. This documentary is refreshing so many levels. Viewers get to see her laugh, cry, curse, talk about sex and do stuff that regular women do.

Her Love For Women 

Beyonce has never admitted to being feminist but it’s safe to say that she has some feminist leanings. Throughout the documentary her love for other women was so evident. She spoke on how important sisterhood was to her and how unfair it is for our society to be so patriarchal. She isn’t an academic. She isn’t a writer nor an activist but she was speaking some truth all up and through that documentary. I don’t think she gets the credit she deserves. For the past week, she has been blasted for calling her latest tour the “Mrs. Carter Tour” and I’m sure she will get dragged for it and that’s part of the reason I am writing this post. Not to stan. Not to make excuses and close a critical eye. I have and will continue to criticize figures like Beyonce but I also like to give props where props are due.

Her and Her Husband

The way she talked about him and their on-camera interactions were beautiful. She has been criticized heavily because people assume she bases her identity on what man she is attached to and honestly, I don’t see that at all. Black love is and always has been revolutionary act, especially PUBLIC black love. Day after day, I hear and see stories about how there aren’t black men to marry, black women aren’t marriageable and black love just doesn’t exist anymore. I could write a whole post about that and I probably will one day. I say all that to say, we need as many positive images and possible. Not to mention, it’s just nice to see how strong their love is.

I got so much from that documentary. It was inspiring. But enough of my emoting, I want to hear from you.

Did you watch Life Is But A Dream? What did you think? 

4 thoughts on “Beyonce and Life Is But A Dream: Thoughts

  1. four4mommy says:

    I didn’t watch the HBO special. I did however see her interview with Oprah. I too got the impression that she is a “normal”woman. We all know that all of these stars are human, and many times we make them seem superhuman or something. She really made me feel like she is in touch, or has learned to be in touch with off-stage Beyonce…the wife, mother, lover, etc. Many people seem to judge her (and others in the music industry), and to me it seems unfair. While it is hard not to be a conversation piece if you are this “star” as it were, unless you know her, and I mean know in the personal sense, then you can’t make a valid call. No matter how successful a person is, most of the time, they still have feelings underneath the name brands, and hype. I said that to say Beyonce displayed herself in a new light to me. I feel as she felt she had to “reveal” herself a bit more and it seems as if she has benefited personally from it. I probably couldn’t have done it. Whatever she wished to achieve, I hope she did it! I never knock growth.

  2. Nicole E. Shields says:

    I love reading your articles. I look forward to your extended version of Black love. I would give you black couples to highlight, but I like the way your brain works and surely you’ll select great examples.

  3. Jay Howard Gatsby says:

    What a great entry. I too watched “Life is But a Dream,” albeit this past weekend (praise the Lord for DVR), and I was just floored by Beyonce’s openness throughout the documentary. I think it’s shone out before in bits and pieces – in past interviews with Destiny’s Child, for example, you’ll see her laugh and be a bit goofy. And that’s such a stark contrast from the images that Beyonce projects of herself, in terms of being untouchable, powerful, and even a little arrogant. But I get that that was so necessary, because the documentary’s aim is to make her relatable – for us to see that Beyonce’, just like the nursery rhyme goes, is very much “rowing her boat down the stream” like the rest of us. Her boat may be a yacht compared to some people, to extend the analogy, but it’s still a boat and she’s still “human.”

    I can admit that I was jealous of Jay-Z when I heard Beyonce speak of him. And this was beyond the usual “thirst driven” jealousy lol, but you can feel the love in Beyonce’s words as much as you do in the actions (I appreciated how there were so many shots of Jay backstage with her before and after performances). When she was like “MY husband.” lol That was just great to behold.

    But I agree with you that this documentary was something that everybody can appreciate, not just Beystans. It was very honest, very candid (right down to the fact that Bey chose to wear no makeup during the intimate interview parts), and uncompromising. And I have a new appreciation for her as a person and a fan.

Speak!

