ANA in Retrospect: Top 5 Posts of 2012

WordPress saved me a heap of work and told me what my top posts were this year. 2012 has been an interesting year for me and my writing. I’ve had a few ups and some downs but I’m here. That counts for something, right? Anyway, here are ANA’s top 5 posts.

This Land is NOT Our Land: Obama’s Rope

“Bill Clinton was caught with a semen on his dress and publicly admitted to cheating on his wife but I doubt I will see a picture of him with his noose around his neck. Thomas Jefferson is revered and his raping of his underaged female slave is romanticized but no images of him as a terrorist or a militant. If someone went around asking for copies of George W. Bush’s birth certificate, folks would think that person is wacky. Point is, despite what “color-blind” and post-racial folks would like to believe, racism is alive and well. That target on our brown backs is still there. Even if we’re the president of the United States.”

I ❤ My Boobs: Tracee Ellis Ross Got It Right!

“I am so glad someone as prominent as Tracee, who is a woman of color to boot, came out and spoke out against this crazy standard. I would love to see more women, famous or not, challenge these standards. Ladies, I don’t care if your boobs sag, droop, have stretch marks, are mosquito bites, watermelons or anything else, there is nothing wrong with them. Love you tatas. Embrace your bewbs. Cuddle your knockers.”

Steel Magnolias and Positive Black Images Aren’t Above Critique!

“It was nice to see the likes of Phylicia Rashad, Alfre Woodard and  Queen Latifah act together but that doesn’t change the bad southern accents, the absence of certain cultural ques and other things that made me not enjoy that movie.

To me, something that is really positive is complex and it has nuances. The Black community isn’t mostly comprised of ratchetness and it isn’t sunshine and smokescreens either. Our only choices shouldn’t be bland and ratchet.”

A Lesson In…Cultural Appropriation (featuring Lady Gaga)

” Cultural appropriation takes the cultural of a group of people, usually people of color, and turns it into a caricature. A rasta wig is a fun souvenir and gag for many people but it is also a mockery of a faith and culture. A lot of folks think wearing a Native American headdress is a trendy hipstery Halloween costume but for actual Native American people, headdresses mean something significant. It might seem like I am making a mountain out of a mole hill but there is a bigger issue at work. For instance, Lady Gaga can walk around in a burqa to make some type of convoluted fashion statement meanwhile women that wear burqas for symbolic reasons are catching hell.”

President Obama Has Every Right to Call His Girls Beautiful (Response to Alice Robb)

“There has been a conversation amongst the white  feminist community about the implication of calling little girls beautiful and while I agree that the beauty standards in this country are atrocious, I think this conversation and Robbs’ article misses a very important point. In this society and much of the world, white women are seen as the standard of beauty and Black women are told they are the antithesis of that beauty. We’re told our skin isn’t the right tone, our hair isn’t the right texture and our bodies aren’t the right size and shape. Black women have been conditioned to hate their beauty for centuries.”

There you have! The top 5 posts of 2012. I have so many ideas for this corner of the internet and I can’t wait to implement them. Thanks for sticking with me this year. I hope to see you in 2013!

Happy New Year!

What was your favorite ANA post this year? What do you want to see from ANA in 2013? Leave a comment!

One thought on “ANA in Retrospect: Top 5 Posts of 2012

Speak!

