{Real Life}: I’m Looking For A Roommate!

I'm trying to avoid THIS.

I’m trying to avoid THIS.

I am in the process of finding a room mate. After much thought and consideration, I am planning to move out my parents’ house in mid to late 2013. I figured it was high time to see what the world has in store for me and I figured 23 (or 24, depending on when I move) is a good age to start exploring. While I am understandably scared shitless, I welcome the change and the challenge. Back to the roomie situation. I am starting this search EARLY. I want to get a chance to prepare and plan for this move with my potential roomies instead of finding some one at the last minute and walking into a disaster. I am fully aware that it could still turn out to be a disaster but I would still like to be as prepared as possible.

That said, I have a few requirements for my potential roomies. Nothing outrageous, just some things I can’t compromise on:

Must be queer/feminist/marginalized folk/alternative friendly.

This is really important to me. I fit these categories and so do many of my friends so I want my place to be a safe space. I don’t want anyone to feel like they can’t be comfortable in my home because of who I chose to live with. Your politics don’t have to be exactly like mine but I aint living with Rush Limbaugh’s incarnate either.

No drama.

Look, if you life resembles a Real Housewives of Atlanta episode, me no gusta. I try to keep my life as drama free as possible. I want peace. Peace is not having a brick thrown through my window because you pissed off your sometimes boyfriend or girlfriend. Nor is it me being waken up by loud arguing and fighting in the middle of the night. Keep your stuff together. I will give you the same courtesy.

Be respectful of my stuff and our stuff.

When I was living in a dorm with 3 other girls, I was able to share food with 2 of them. We went grocery shopping together, made dinners together and kept our stuff organized together.  It was a nice little system and it worked. We didn’t have three gallon jugs of milk when we could all share one. I would love to be able to have that system with someone else. Me and these girls even shared clothes sometimes. I would like to be able to trust someone like that. I’m not going to run in your closet and start wearing your clothes but I want to be friends with my roommate or roommates.

Preferably 21 and older.

I’m going to be blunt. I am 23 years old and the idea of living with an 18 or 19 year old gives me the willies. I remember how I was when I was that age and although I wasn’t as out there as some, I was pretty darn stupid. I’m still pretty darn stupid sometimes but 20-something stupid is a bit smarter than 18-year old stupid. Now, there is an exception to any rule and if you feel like you’re the exception, cool. Contact me. I’m open to being proven wrong. But folks around my age or a little older are preferred.

Please, have a job.

I’m not trying to struggle to pay rent every month because someone doesn’t have the money. I’m not trying to deal with that. I don’t want to hear the excuses. So, if you aren’t getting a paycheck, don’t bother.

Alright folks, that’s all I have for now. Am I missing anything? Is this too much? Have any roomie horror stories to share? Leave a comment!

(Note: If you’re actually interested in rooming with me, email me at aatwell3@student.gsu.edu. Serious inquiries only. Mkay?)
Speak!

