Lupe Was Off and So Was I

I am a feminist.

I’m quick to tell someone when their sexism is showing and I will call you out on your privilege in a heartbeat.

Call me a bitch? I might hit you in the mouth. You’ll never catch me referring to myself as a bad bitch or any other type of bitch.

But, dammit, do I love me some ratchet music.

And for that reason, I couldn’t bring myself to dedicate a whole post to whining about that Lupe Fiasco song.

Yes, the lady/woman/bitch comparison is tired. That horse is so dead that we’re beating on its dead grandbaby by now. Still, I was having trouble writing that post. Then, I turned on Spotify. Then Travis Porter came on. Then, I was reciting the lyrics to “Make it Rain.”

And for those that don’t know, here’s the chorus and hook to “Make It Rain”:

You wanna see some ass
I wanna see sum cash
Keep dem dollars comin
And das gonna make me dance
And das gonna make me dance
And das gonna make me dance
Make it rain trick make it make it rain trick
Make it rain trick make it make it rain trick
Make it rain trick make it make it rain trick
Make it rain trick make it make it rain trick

[Quez:]
I’m make it rain bitch
I’m make I rain
I’m make it rain bitch
I’m make it rain
I’m make it rain bitch
I’m make it rain
I’m make it rain bitch
I’m make it rain

Yeah.

While, I see some problematic stuff in Lupe’s song, I aint afraid to admit there is something problematic about my own thinking. Here I am, ready to blast a song with a positive, albeit misguided, message but I can recite lyrics like the ones above and you probably won’t see a post about Travis Porter here or anywhere else for that matter. We’ve become desensitized to the Travis Porters of the world. We don’t think they have any standards so we don’t hold them to one unless they do something we deem outrageous like swipe a credit card down a video chick’s booty. We’re selective about the misogyny we check. We only check it when we’re not in the line of fire. So yes, as someone that probably only knows three Lupe songs by their titles, I could have went in about how I hate the whole “lady” image and how it is forced on women and blast Lupe for upholding it as I rap about tricks making it rain. But that would have been fake. Inauthentic. As my boss would say, that isn’t how I roll. I am willing to check myself just like I was ready to check Lupe and like I want to be able to check the Travis Porters of the world, even if their songs are so damn catchy.

4 thoughts on “Lupe Was Off and So Was I

  1. royal T says:

    i think Lupe did a good job with the song, he is using the platform to try to spread a message to people, but as a rapper there is still a certain standard that he has to uphold for his label and media stations to promote the song. He definitely has addressed the issue and painted thorough pictures concerning the root of the problem. Will it solve the problem of the word “bitch” no, but at minimum it will influence people to think a little deeper about why they use the word

Speak!

